President Weah off to Attend European Development Days (EDD) Summit

Thursday, 31st May 2018

Photo Credit: Executive Mansion

Monrovia, Liberia: President George Manneh Weah will depart the country on Saturday, June 2, 2018 for the Kingdom of Belgium to honor an invitation by the European Union (EU) to attend the European Development Days (EDD) Summit.


The EDD Summit is organized by the European Commission each year, to bring the development community together to share ideas and experiences in ways that inspire new partnerships and innovative solutions to the world’s most pressing challenges. For its twelfth (12th) edition, EDD 2018 will aim at bringing together the European Union's commitment to gender equality and women's empowerment with the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. Gender equality and women empowerment are at the core of European values and enshrined within the EU's legal and political framework. The theme for this year’s summit is “Women and Girls at the Forefront of Sustainable Development: Protect, Empower, and Invest.“


While in Brussels, the President will meet several European Leaders including Antonio Tajani, President of the European Parliament, Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission and Donald Tusk, President of the European Council. He will also hold discussions with the United Nations Deputy Secretary General, Ms. Amina J. Mohammed. President Weah will also meet with the King of Belgium, His Royal Highness, King Philippe at the Royal Palace in Brussels.


The Liberian Leader on behalf of the Government of Liberia will sign an Economic Cooperation Agreement between Liberia and the EU that will be geared towards supporting the President’s Pro-Poor Agenda. The President is also expected to engage the EU on previous commitment they have made on the rehabilitation of several highway roads in the country.


President Weah will be accompanied by Hon. Gbehzongar Findley, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Hon. Samuel D. Tweah, Minister of Finance and Development Planning, Hon. Eugene Nagbe, Minister of Information, Culture and Tourism and Hon. Emmanuel Shaw, Advisor to the President. Others are Hon. Trokon Kpui, Minister Without Portfolio, Hon, Acarous Gray, Head of Liberian delegation to ACP-EU Joint Parliament, Madame Nyemade Pearson, Williametta Piso Saydee-Tarr and Managing Director of the LPRC, among others.


Meanwhile, the Minister of State for Presidential Affairs and Chief of Staff, Hon. Nathaniel Farlo McGill, will chair the Cabinet in close consultation with the Vice President, Madam Jewel


Howard Taylor, and via telephone contact with the President.


The President and his delegation will return on the 7th of June 2018.