Finance Ministry gets new Deputy Minister

Monday, 30th October 2006

Monrovia, Liberia - President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has appointed Mr. Roderick Oso Smith as Deputy Minister of Finance for Expenditure and Debt Management at the Ministry of Finance.

The President has also constituted two Task Forces. They are the National Diamond Task Force and the National Task Force for the Prevention of Trafficking in Persons.

The National Diamond Task Force is to assist in ensuring the Implementation of the Kimberley Process Certification Scheme for the lifting of United Nations Sanctions on Liberian rough diamonds.

Those appointed include, Hon. Eugene H. Shannon, Minister of Lands, Mines and Energy, Chairman; Ambassador Alan Doss, Special Representative of the Secretary-General and Coordinator of the U.N. Mission in Liberia (UNMIL), Co-chairman; Ambassador Donald Booth, Ambassador of the United States of America, member; Mr. Steven Ursino (UNDP), member; Mr. Carney Johnson, member; and Hon. Morris G. Saytumah, Minister of State for Finance, Economic and Legal Affairs, member. Other members of the National Diamond Task Force are, Deputy Minister for Planning and Development, Ministry of Lands, Mines and Energy, Hon. A. Kpandel Fayia, member;  Chinese Ambassador to Liberia, Lin Songtian, member; Ambassador Ansumana Cesay (ECOWAS), member; Mrs. Hester Williams-Catakaw, member and Mr. James Davies, member.

President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has also constituted a National Task Force for the Prevention of Trafficking in Persons. Those appointed are Labor Minister, Hon. Samuel Kofi Woods, Chairman; Justice Minister, Hon. Frances Johnson-Morris, Co-chairman; Foreign Minister, Ambassador, George Wallace, Member; and Internal Affairs Minister, Hon. Ambulai Johnson, member.

Other members of the National Task Force for the Prevention of Trafficking in Persons are: Health Minister, Dr. Walter Gwenigale, member; Police Inspector-general, Munah Sieh, member; and Immigration Bureau Commissioner, Hon. Abla Gadegbeku-Williams, member.

The Force has the following powers and functions:

  1. to develop a National Plan for the prevention of trafficking in      persons;
  2. to coordinate the implementation of the plans;
  3. to monitor and supervise all member Agencies, NGOs and other partners to ensure sound implantation of the anti-trafficking plan;
  4. to coordinate the collection and sharing of trafficking data among Government Agencies;
  5. to coordinate the sharing of information between Agencies for the purposes of determining and the prevention of Trafficking in Persons;
  6. to detect criminal groups engaging in Trafficking; and
  7. to establish policies to enable Government to work with non-Governmental organizations and other elements of Civil Society to prevent trafficking, and assist in the appropriate reintegration of victims of trafficking.

The Task Force for the Prevention of Trafficking in Persons is established in keeping with an Act of Legislature enacted into Law on June 14, 2005.