President Boakai
President Boakai

President Boakai Leads Delegation to South Korea for Korea-Africa Summit

Executive Mansion, Monrovia - H.E. Joseph Nyuma Boakai, Sr., President of the Republic of Liberia, leaves Liberia today, Saturday, June 1, 2024, at the head of the official Liberian Delegation to attend the Korea-Africa Summit scheduled to take place in Seoul.

The Summit, the first of its kind hosted by Korea, brings together Heads of States and governments from Africa, business leaders, international partners from the Global South and a host of others in the Asian region and beyond.

The event will provide a vital platform for Liberia to showcase its investment potential and to explore opportunities for support to key sectors including agriculture, roads, energy, tourism and technology.

President Boakai is expected to speak at the opening ceremony, and other thematic sessions. He will also hold bilateral talks with H.E. Yook Suk Yeol, President of South Korea and other leaders and entrepreneurs on the sidelines of the summit.

The Liberian Leader will also Chair an investment forum on Liberia, reinforced by Chairman Jeff Blibo, of the National Investment Commission and Liberian Foreign Affairs Minister Sara Beysolow Nyanti.

The Delegation accompanying the President includes senior government officials who are expected to participate in various thematic discussions forums and events.

The goal here is to attract tangible investments and partnerships that will contribute significantly to Liberia’s economic development.

Liberia’s participation in the Korea-Africa Business Summit is expected to strengthen bilateral relations with South Korea and, more so, with the Asian region.

The President’s participation underscores Liberia’s commitment to engaging with global partners to drive economic progress and improve the livelihoods of the Liberian people.

The Official Delegation accompanying the President to the Korea-Africa Summit include:

1.    Honorable Sara Beysolow Nyanti, Minister of Foreign Affairs
2.    Honorable Alexander Nuetah, Minister of Agriculture
3.    Honorable Sam Stevquoah, Minister of State Without Portfolio/Special Services 
4.    Honorable Jerolimek Piah, Minister of Information, Cultural Affairs and Tourism
5.    Honorable Jeff Blibo, National Investment Commission Chairman
6.    Senator Abraham Dillion, Montserrado County
7.    Representative Taa Wongbe, District #9, Nimba County 
8.    Honorable Morley Kamara, Economic Advisor to the President

The delegation will be joined by Liberian Ambassador to Japan, Honorable Blamo Nelson, whose jurisdiction also covers Korea.

The President’s Team will also include his presidential support staff and assistants on communications, media, security, and personal matters.

The delegation is expected to return to the country on June 8, 2024.

While the President is out of the country, the Minister of State for Presidential Affairs and Chief of Staff, Honorable Sylvester M. Grigsby, will act in consultation with the Vice President while remaining in regular telephone communication with the President.